Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The Second Grand Alliance between the Emperor, Great Britain and the Netherlands, signed at The Hague, 7 September 1701

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved. Subscriber: null; date: 06 April 2020


The Latin text reproduced here is taken from Dumont, Corps Universel Diplomatique du Droit des Gens, vol. VIII, Part I, p. 89, who takes it from the "Protocol" of the Imperial embassy at The Hague. The text appears also in Lamberty, Mémoires pour Servir à l'Histoire du XVIII Siècle (1735), vol. I, p. 14 (with French translation), Zinck, Ruhe des jetzt lebenden Europa etc., vol. I, p. 566, and Schmauss, Corpus Jurus Gentium, p. 1153. The English translation is reproduced from Jenkinson, Treaties, vol. I, p. 326. This appears also in Generall Collection of Treatys, vol. I, p. 415 and Almon, A Collection of All the Treaties of Peace, vol. I, p. 40. The original text is reprinted from the Austrian archives by Pribram, Oesterreichische Staatsvertraege. England, Vol. I, p. 226, and again by von Srbik, Oesterreichische Staatsvertraege. Niederlande, p. 343, and again in part (with English translation) by Davenport, European Treaties bearing on the History of the United States, vol. III, p. 75. The Treaty was ratified by the Emperor on 19 September, by Great Britain on 21 September, and by the Netherlands on 5 October 1701, and the Separate Article by the Emperor on 22 March and by Great Britain on 19(30) April 1702. The accessions of the Franconian, Suabian and Upper Rhine Circles (22 March 1702) and of the Circle of Lower Rhine-Westphalia (29 September (7 October) 1702) are reproduced in this series; Prussia acceded on 30 December 1701, Brunswick-Luneburg-Wolfenbuttel on 29 May, Brunswick on 24 June, Brunswick-Luneburg-Hanover on 4 July, Brunswick-Luneburg-Celle on 4 July, Mecklenburg-Schwerin on 7 September, the Circle of the Upper Rhine on 7 October 1702, and Hesse-Cassel on 15 January 1703. Savoy acceded by the Treaty with Great Britain of 4 August 1704. See Bittner, Chronologisches Verzeichnis der Oesterreichischen Staatsvertraege, vol. I, p. 118, and, for a slightly variant list of accessions, Index of British Treaties, vol. II, p. 73. The Treaty was confirmed as between Great Britain and the Netherlands by the Agreement of 22 December 1711. The Prussian accession was confirmed as between the Emperor and Prussia by the Treaty of 16 December 1702 (Art. 1).


Latin Language PDF

English Language PDF