Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [MPEPIL]

European Community and Union, Association of Overseas Countries and Territories

Freya Baetens

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 01 June 2020

Regional organizations — EU Treaty

Published under the auspices of the Max Planck Foundation for International Peace and the Rule of Law under the direction of Rüdiger Wolfrum.

1Historically, the list of overseas countries and territories (‘OCTs’) associated with European States was much longer, but most of these became independent sovereign States (mostly African, Caribbean, and Pacific States; ‘ACP States’) during the period of decolonization. The remaining 25 OCTs are constitutionally linked with Denmark (Greenland), France (French Polynesia, Mayotte, New Caledonia and Dependencies, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, and Wallis and Futuna Islands), the Netherlands (Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba,...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.