Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [MPEPIL]

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Antje C Berger, Omar Ould D Hamady

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 27 January 2020

Democracy — Development — Regional co-operation — Collective security — Regional organizations — Peace keeping

Published under the auspices of the Max Planck Foundation for International Peace and the Rule of Law under the direction of Rüdiger Wolfrum.

1The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS/Communauté Économique des États de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, CEDEAO) is a regional economic community (‘REC’) of 15 West African States founded in 1975 by the Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States (Treaty of Lagos). ECOWAS is one of the pillars of regional integration in Africa along with the other RECs, in particular the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the Economic Community of Central African States (‘ECCAS’), the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (‘IGAD’), the...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.