Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [MPEPIL]

East African Community (EAC)

Wilbert TK Kaahwa

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 14 December 2019

International co-operation — Regional organizations

Published under the auspices of the Max Planck Foundation for International Peace and the Rule of Law under the direction of Rüdiger Wolfrum.

1 The East African Community (‘EAC’; ‘Community’) is a regional intergovernmental organization comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda with its Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania (see International Organizations or Institutions, Headquarters; Regional Cooperation and Organization: African States).2 The Community is a corporate legal entity founded by the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community (‘EAC Treaty’; ‘the Treaty’) which was signed on 30 November 1999 and which came into force on 7 July 2000. Prior to the coming into force...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.