Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [MPEPIL]

Brest-Litovsk, Peace of (1918)

Sally A Boniece

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 27 January 2020

Peace treaties — Armed conflict — Occupation — Belligerence — 1815 to World War I — Self-determination

Published under the auspices of the Max Planck Foundation for International Peace and the Rule of Law under the direction of Rüdiger Wolfrum.

1 At the fortress town of Brest-Litovsk in present-day Belarus, which served as German military headquarters on the Eastern Front of World War I, the Central Powers—Germany, Austria-Hungary, Bulgaria, and Turkey—and the new Soviet government of Russia signed the Armistice Convention between Austria-Hungary, Bulgaria, Germany, Turkey, and Russia on 15 December 1917. On 9 February 1918, the Central Powers and the Ukrainian Central Rada (Council) signed the Treaty of Peace between Austria-Hungary, Bulgaria, Germany, Turkey, and Ukraine recognizing Ukrainian...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.