Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [MPEPIL]

Arab Free Trade Area Agreement (1997)

Kilian Bälz

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 19 May 2019

International economic law — Regional organizations

Published under the auspices of the Max Planck Foundation for International Peace and the Rule of Law under the direction of Rüdiger Wolfrum.

1 The Arab Free Trade Area Agreement (‘AFTAA’) was adopted by the Economic and Social Council of the League of Arab States (LAS) on 19 February 1997 and entered into force on 1 January 1998 ( Free Trade Areas ). The AFTAA initially had 17 Member States: Egypt, United Arab Emirates (‘UAE’), Bahrain, Jordan, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia, Sudan , Syria, Iraq, Oman, Palestine , Qatar, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, and Yemen. Algeria joined as the 18 th Member State in 2009. The AFTAA is an attempt of the LAS at enhancing Arab regional economic integration ( Economic...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.