Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [MPEPIL]

Eparses Islands

Antje von Ungern-Sternberg

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 20 June 2019

Territory, acquisition and transfer — Sovereignty — Islands and artificial islands — Jurisdiction of states, territoriality principle — States, independence

Published under the auspices of the Max Planck Foundation for International Peace and the Rule of Law under the direction of Rüdiger Wolfrum.

1 The Eparses Islands are five unpopulated West Indian Ocean islands administered and claimed by France, whose territorial sovereignty has been disputed since decolonization . ( Decolonization: French Territories ) Juan de Nova (5 square kilometres), Europa (30 square kilometres), Bassas da India (〈 1 square kilometre), and the Glorieuses (6 square kilometres), located in the Mozambique Channel west of Madagascar and east of Mozambique, are also claimed by Madagascar. The reef of Tromelin (1 square kilometre), situated east of Madagascar and north of Mauritius and...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.