Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law [MPEiPro]

Single-Judge Formation: European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR)

Lize R Glas

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 04 December 2021

Admissibility — Case management — Individual complaint procedure — International courts and tribunals, procedure

Published under the direction of Hélène Ruiz Fabri, with the support of the Department of International Law and Dispute Resolution, under the auspices of the Max Planck Institute Luxembourg for Procedural Law.

1 Prior to the entry-into-force of Protocol No 14 to the European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (1950) (‘Convention’ or ‘ECHR’) (‘Protocol 14’), the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) (‘Court’ or ‘ECtHR’) sat in one of three formations when considering a case brought before it: in Committees of three judges, Chambers of seven judges (Chambers: European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR)), or a Grand Chamber of 17 judges (Grand Chamber: European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR)). When Protocol 14 entered into force on 1 June...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.