Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law [MPEiPro]

Eritrea-Ethiopia Boundary Commission (EEBC)

Mamadou Hébié, Alisa Kerschbaum

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 22 April 2021

International courts and tribunals, procedure — Negotiations and consultation — Boundaries — Demarcation — International peace and security

Published under the direction of Hélène Ruiz Fabri, with the support of the Department of International Law and Dispute Resolution, under the auspices of the Max Planck Institute Luxembourg for Procedural Law.

1 Ethiopia and Eritrea are two neighbouring countries in Northeast Africa, also known as the Horn of Africa. Whereas Ethiopia has always been ‘an independent member of the international community’ (Eritrea-Ethiopia Boundary Commission (‘Commission’ or ‘EEBC’)), Decision regarding Delimitation of the Border between Eritrea and Ethiopia, 2002, para 2.7), Eritrea was under Italian rule until 1941. As a consequence of Italy’s defeat during the Allied East African campaign of 1940–41, Eritrea was first placed under the military authority of the United Kingdom. By...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.