Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law [MPEiPro]

Special District Court for the Three Northeastern Provinces

Blaine Chiasson

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 30 November 2020

Diplomacy and consular relations — Extradition and mutual assistance — Applicable law — International courts and tribunals, procedure — Judicial cooperation — Jurisdiction of states, extra-territorial

Published under the direction of Hélène Ruiz Fabri, with the support of the Department of International Law and Dispute Resolution, under the auspices of the Max Planck Institute Luxembourg for Procedural Law.

1 The Three Northeastern Provinces Special District Court (‘SDC’) was formed under Chinese domestic law in 1920 and existed until approximately 1932 in the north-eastern Chinese provinces of Heilongjiang, Jilin, and Liaoning, a region also known as Manchuria. It was created to replace the treaty-based Russo–Chinese Mixed Court of the Chinese Eastern Railway (‘CER’) leasehold which operated from 1898 to 1920 (Mixed Courts of the Colonial Era). The SDC was among other Chinese administrative reforms to Russian institutions, such as courts; municipal governments; and...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.