Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [MPEPIL]

Sovereign Base Areas (SBA)

Nasia Hadjigeorgiou

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2022. All Rights Reserved.date: 10 August 2022

Colonization / Decolonization — Self-determination — Sovereignty — Territory, non-self-governing

Published under the auspices of the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law under the direction of Professor Anne Peters (2021–) and Professor Rüdiger Wolfrum (2004–2020). 

1 The Sovereign Base Areas (‘SBA’; ‘Areas’) are two relatively large pieces of land, amounting to approximately 3% of the territory of the island of Cyprus, over which the United Kingdom (‘UK’) exercises sovereignty (R [on the Application of Tag Eldin Ramadan Bashir and others] v Secretary of State for the Home Department [Supreme Court of the United Kingdom] [2018] para. 69; henceforth ‘Bashir’). The two Areas—‘Akrotiri’ and ‘Dhekelia’—are among the 14 British Overseas Territories (Schedule 6 British Nationality Act 1981 c 61 [UK]; Section 1 (1) British Overseas...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.