Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

You are looking at 11 of 1 results

Contributor: Akinkugbe, Olabisi D x
Clear All

Dispute Settlement: African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) »

Olabisi D Akinkugbe
1 In March 2018, 44 of the 55 African States members of the African Union (AU) met in Kigali, Rwanda, to sign a landmark pact that aims to transform intra-African trade relations (Viljoen, 2011). In May 2019, that pact, the Agreement Establishing the African Continental Free Trade Area (the ‘Agreement’), entered into force. The initial implementation was projected to commence in mid-2020, however that plan was temporarily derailed by the coronavirus pandemic and rescheduled for 2021 (African Union, 2021). Trading under the AfCFTA was officially launched on 1...