Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Expansion of the MPEPIL Academic Advisory Board

December 17, 2021

Expansion of the MPEPIL Academic Advisory Board

The Academic Advisory Board of the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) has been expanded and now includes 17 leading academics and renowned experts in public international law. 

The MPEPIL is entering a new era. With more than 1,750 entries published as of January 2022, covering virtually every aspect of the substance of international law, the primary focus of the advisory board and the editorial team will be to keep up with the developments in this dynamic field of law by continuously updating existing entries whilst adding new ones on emerging topics. 

With the members’ diverse backgrounds and areas of expertise, the advisory board is well equipped to oversee this vast project and to give strategic advice on how to optimize its processes and content, with the aim of maintaining the Encyclopedia’s reputation as the most trusted reference work in international law.

The expanded MPEPIL Academic Advisory Board now consists of the following members:

Prof. Freya Baetens, University of Oslo
Assoc. Prof. Veronika Bilkova, Charles University, Prague
Assoc. Prof. Yifeng Chen, Peking University Law School
Prof. Monica Hakimi, University of Michigan Law School
Prof. Shotaro Hamamoto, Graduate School of Law, Kyoto University
Prof. Marcelo Kohen, Graduate Institute of International and Developmental Studies, Geneva
Prof. Evelyne Lagrange, University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
Prof. Lauri Mälksoo, University of Tartu, Estonia
Prof. Flavia Piovesan, Pontifical Catholic University of São Paulo
Prof. Lavanya Rajamani, University of Oxford
Prof. Catherine Redgwell, University of Oxford
Prof. Hélène Ruiz Fabri, Director at the Max Planck Institute for International, European and Regulatory Procedural Law, Luxembourg
Prof. Takao Suami, Waseda University, Tokyo
Prof. Dire Tladi, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Prof. Jorge Viñuales, University of Cambridge
Prof. Rüdiger Wolfrum, former Director at the Max Planck Foundation for International Peace and the Rule of Law; former Director at the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, Heidelberg
Sir Michael Wood, Member of the United Nations International Law Commission, Barrister at 20 Essex Street, London