Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Classes of Heads of Mission

Eileen Denza

From: Diplomatic Law: Commentary on the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations (3rd Edition)

Professor Eileen Denza

A newer edition of Diplomatic Law is available. Latest edition (4 ed.)
Next Edition: 4th Edition Latest edition (4 ed.)

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2023. All Rights Reserved.date: 20 May 2024

Heads of state and other senior officials — Diplomatic missions — Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties — Sovereignty — States, equality
1. Heads of mission are divided into three classes, namely: (a) that of ambassadors or nuncios accredited to Heads of State, and other heads of mission of equivalent rank; (b) that of envoys, ministers and internuncios accredited to Heads of State; (c) that of chargés d’affaires accredited to Ministers for Foreign Affairs. 2. Except as concerns precedence and etiquette, there shall be no differentiation between heads of mission by reason of their class. The class to which the heads of their missions are to be assigned shall be agreed between States. Articles 14 to...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.