Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part 2 The United Nations: What it is, 7 United Nations Specialized Agencies

Dame Rosalyn Higgins DBE QC, Philippa Webb, Dapo Akande, Sandesh Sivakumaran, James Sloan

From: Oppenheim's International Law: United Nations

Rosalyn Higgins, Philippa Webb, Dapo Akande, Sandesh Sivakumaran, James Sloan

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2023. All Rights Reserved.date: 21 March 2023

United Nations (UN) specialized agencies are autonomous organizations working as part of the UN system in economic, social, cultural, educational, health, and related fields. There are 17 UN specialized agencies. Four of these—the International Labour Organization (ILO), United Postal Union (UPU), International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and World Meteorological Organization (WMO)—were in existence as international organizations before the establishment of the UN. The other agencies were established either concurrently with or subsequent to the establishment of the UN. This chapter discusses the development of specialized agencies; other agencies or organizations; membership; legal personality; relationship agreements; relationship with principal organs; overview of mandates; and bodies established by specialized agencies.

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.