Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Book IV Multilateral Diplomacy, Human Rights, and International Organizations, 20 The G8/G7, G20, BRICS, WTO, OECD, IMF, and the World Bank

Ivor Roberts

From: Satow's Diplomatic Practice (7th Edition)

Edited By: Sir Ivor Roberts

From: Oxford Public International Law (http://opil.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2023. All Rights Reserved.date: 31 May 2023


This chapter examines a number of global financial institutions. The first is the Group of Eight (G8)—currently known as the Group of 7 (G7)—an informal international forum comprising seven of the world’s leading industrialized nations (US, Japan, Germany, France, UK, Italy, Canada) and Russia. Next, is the G20, which aims to expand the G8. BRICs represents the economies of Brazil, Russia, India, and China. The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), meanwhile, is tasked with becoming an authoritative centre of research and initiative in economic thought and development. The International Energy Agency (IEA) has four main areas of focus: energy security, economic development, environmental awareness, and engagement worldwide. The World Trade Organization (WTO) is an institutional body which deals with trade liberalization. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank, both established in 1944, aim for international economic cooperation, with the latter focusing on development.

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.