Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation


Oxford International Organizations (OXIO) is a database of annotated documents pertaining to the law of international organizations. The database is a unique repository, and the first of its kind, for acts and practices of international organizations which are of central importance to enquiries into international law, including international institutional law, and which have never been consolidated in one single tool.

OXIO provides practitioners, scholars, and students with instant access to classic as well as less familiar, but equally as important, materials on the law of international organizations. The database, with its expert analysis, allows researchers to search and browse across the full range of organizations enabling comparative research across a wide range of organizations and the drilling down into particular subjects with sophisticated browsing functionality. Powered by the Oxford Law Citator, OXIO greatly enables research as it permits users to follow citations and other links between content.

Each document is accompanied by a concise expert commentary which may include, but is not limited to: the impact of the document or act concerned on the internal working of the organization in question, on the development of the law of international organizations generally, and on the development of international law as a whole.

The database is continuously expanding with new materials to give researchers a full overview of the legal frameworks, processes, and impact of a growing range of organizations.



Jean d’Aspremont (University of Manchester and Sciences Po Paris)
Catherine Brölmann (University of Amsterdam)
Iain Scobbie (University of Manchester)

Managing Editor:

Gail Lythgoe (University of Glasgow)

Editorial Board:

Phil Burton (University of Manchester)
Jacob Cogan (University of Cincinnati)
Richard Collins (University College Dublin)
Frédéric Dopagne (Université catholique de Louvain)
Guy Fiti Sinclair (Victoria University of Wellington)
Gérardine Goh Escolar (Iran-United States Claims Tribunal)
Sarah Heathcote (Australian National University)
Devika Hovell (London School of Economics)
Paolo Palchetti (Università of Macerata)
Hsein-Li Tan (National University of Singapore)
Philippa Webb (University College London)

Theme Developers:

Lorenzo Gasparri (University College London)
Saskia Lemeire (Kelley Drye & Warren LLP)
Maiko Meguro (University of Amsterdam)
Bérénice Schramm (Cédim, UQÀM | Centre for Gender Studies, SOAS)

Advisory Board:

Niels Blokker (Universiteit Leiden)
Pierre Bodeau-Livinec (University Paris 8)
Laurence Boisson de Chazournes (Université de Genève)
Gian Luca Burci (Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva)
Celia Goldman(International Monetary Fund)
Jan Klabbers (University of Helsinki)
Peter Jan Kuijper (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
Edward Kwakwa (World intellectual Property Organization)
Evelyne Lagrange (Université Paris 1)
Natalie Lichtenstein (World Bank)
Gabrielle Marceau (World Trade Organization)
August Reinisch (Universität Wien)
Jean-Marc Sorel (Université Paris 1)
Gregor Wettberg (ECMWF)
Michael Wood (International Law Commission)
Jan Wouters (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)